Center of Excellence in Higher Education
The First Private University in Bangladesh

Executive Leaders

 
VC, Pro-VC & Treasurer
VC

Vice-Chancellor (in charge)

Prof. Atiqul Islam
Ph.D., University of Sydney, Australia
M.Com., University of New South Wales, Australia
Email: vicechancellor@northsouth.edu
VC

Treasurer

Prof. Abdur Rob Khan
Ph.D., University of Kent at Canterbury (UKC), UK
Email: treasurer@northsouth.edu
Deans, Chairs & Directors

School Deans

Dean, School of Health & Life Sciences

Prof. Dr. Hasan Mahmud Reza
Ph.D., Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
Email: hasan.reza@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Business & Economics

Prof. Dr Helal Ahammad
Ph.D., Australian National University, AU
MA., Australian National, AU
Email: helal.ahammad@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

Prof. Dr. Javed Bari
Ph.D., Arizona State University, USA
M.S., Arizona State University, USA
Email: javed.bari@northsouth.edu

Dean, School of Humanities & Social Sciences

Prof. Sk. Tawfique M. Haque (Acting)
M. Phil, University of Bergen, Norway
Email: tawfique.haque@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Business & Economics

Chair, Department of Accounting & Finance

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Md. Nurul Kabir
Ph. D., Griffith University, Australia
MBA, Ritsumeikan Asia Pacific University, Japan
Email: nurul.kabir@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Management

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Atikur Rahman Khan
Ph.D., Monash University, AU
M.Sc., National University of Singapore, SG
Email: atikur.khan@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Economics

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Asad Karim Khan Priyo
Ph.D., University of Toronto, Canada
MA, York University, Canada
Email: asad.priyo@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Marketing & Int. Business

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mahmud Hassan
Ph. D., University of Queensland. D.B.A., AU
Email: mahmud.hassan01@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Engineering & Physical Sciences

Chair, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Prof. Dr. Rajesh Palit
Ph.D., University of Waterloo, Canada
M.A.Sc., University of Manitoba, Canada
Email: rajesh.palit@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Mathematics & Physics

Prof. Md. Sahadet Hossain
Ph.D., Chemnitz University of Technology, Germany
Email: mohammad.hossain@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Architecture

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nandini Awal
Ph.D., University of Tokyo, Japan
M.E. University of Tokyo, Japan
Email: nandini.awal@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Civil & Env. Engineering

Prof. Dr. Moahmmad Nazmul Islam
Ph.D., The University of Tokyo, Japan
M. Sc., National University of Singapore, Singapore
Email: mohammad.islam@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Chair, Department of Law

Arafat Hosen Khan
M.A., King’s College London, UK
L.L.B., University of Essex, UK
Email: arafat.khan@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of History & Philosophy

Prof. Dr. Mahbubur Rahman
Ph.D., Clark Atlanta University, USA
Email: mahbubur.rahman@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Political Science & Sociology

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Rizwan Khair (Acting)
Ph.D., The University of New England, Australia
Email: rizwan.khair@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of English & Modern Languages

Prof. Dr. AQMA Rahman Bhuiyan
Ph.D., Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
M. Phil., Jawaharlal Nehru University, India
Email: rahman.bhuiyan@northsouth.edu

Department Chairs : School of Health and Life Sciences

Chair, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Assoc. Prof. Md. Mahbubur Rahman
Ph.D., University of Heidelberg, Germany
Email: rahman.mahbubur@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Environmental Science & Management

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohammad Sujauddin
Ph. D, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Email: mohammad.sujauddin@northsouth.edu

Chair, Dept. of Biochemistry and Microbiology

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Md. Mainul Hossain
Ph.D., University of Montana, USA
Email: mainul.hossain01@northsouth.edu

Chair, Department of Public Health

Prof. Dr. Dipak Kumar Mitra
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University, USA
Email: dipak.mitra@northsouth.edu

Directors

Director, Graduate Studies

Prof. Dr. Biswas Karabi Farhana
Ph.D., University of East Anglia, UK
MS., University of Newcastle, AUS
Email: biswas.farhana@northsouth.edu

Director, Office of Research-NSU

Dr. Norman Kenneth Swazo
Ph.D., The University of Georgia, USA
Graduate Certificate in Global Policy Studies, The University of Georgia, USA
M.H.S.A, The University of Michigan, USA
Email: norman.swazo@northsouth.edu

Director, MBA & EMBA Programs

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tamgid Ahmed Chowdhury
Ph. D., Macquarie University, Australia
Email: tamgid.ahmed@northsouth.edu

Director, BBA Program

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mehe Z. Rahman
Ph. D., National University of Malaysia
Email: mehe.rahman@northsouth.edu
Administration

Registrar

Dr. Ahmed Tazmeen
Ph.D., University of Manitoba, Canada
M.S., Illinois State University, USA
Email: ahmed.tazmeen@northsouth.edu

Proctor (In Charge)

Syed Asif Hossain
M.Sc., Aston University, UK
Email: Syed.hossain@northsouth.edu

Controller of Examinations

Ms. Afruza Sultana
MA in ELT (EU)
Email: controller@northsouth.edu

Librarian

Dr. Md. Zahid Hossain Shoeb
PhD, MPhil, MA in Information Sc. & Library Mgmt. (DU)
MSc in Computer Science (IUB)
Email: zahid.shoeb@northsouth.edu

Project Director

Mushtaque Habib
M.Engg., University of California, Berkeley
B.Sc.Engg., University of Zambia, Lusaka
Email: mushtaque.habib@northsouth.edu

Director (Information Technology)

Mahbubul H. Sarker
M.Sc.Engg., Polytechnic University, New York, USA
B.Sc.Engg., Bangladesh Univ. of Engg. & Technology
Email: mahbubul.sarker@northsouth.edu

Director, In charge (Finance & Accounts)

Mohammad Fokhrul Islam
M. Com. (Accounting), Jagannath University, CA (CC), ICAB
Email: islam.fokhrul@northsouth.edu

Director (Operation & Maintenance)

Mohammad Zahid Hossain
Cours Spécial des Officiers Énergie (Specialization Course) - French Navy (FRANCE)
B.Sc.Engg., Bangladesh University of Engineering & Technology - (BUET)
Email: zahid.hossain02@northsouth.edu

Director (External Affairs)

Dr. Katherine Li
Ph.D., University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, USA
M.A., Columbia University, New York, USA
Email: katherine.li@northsouth.edu

Director, Acting (Public Relations Office)

Asif Bin Ali
M.A., Swansea University, UK
Email: directorpr@northsouth.edu

Director (Financial Aid)

Jafar Iqbal Russell
Commonwealth EMBA, Bangladesh Open University
B.Sc., Bangalore University, India.
Email: jafar.iqbal@northsouth.edu

Director (Office of Student Affairs)

Dr. Md. Syeed Uz Zaman Khan
Ph.D., University of Manitoba, Canada
MA., University of Manitoba, Canada
Email: syeed.khan@northsouth.edu

Director, Confucius Institute

Dr. Mohammad Bulbul Ashraf Siddiqi
Ph.D., Cardiff University, UK
Email: mohammad.siddiqi@northsouth.edu

Director, Career & Placement Center (CPC)

Dr. Mohammad Khasro Miah
Ph. D., Nagoya University, Japan
Email: khasro.miah@northsouth.edu

Director, NSU Startups Next

Dr. Zulkarin Jahangir
Ph.D., University of London , UK
Email: zulkarin.jahangir@northsouth.edu

Director (IQAC)

Dr. Nazmun Nahar
Ph.D., Purdue University, USA
Email: nazmun.nahar@northsouth.edu

Director, NSU Genome Research Institute (NGRI)

Dr. Muhammad Maqsud Hossain
Ph.D., University of Nottingham, UK
Email: muhammad.maqsud@northsouth.edu

Director, Office of Admissions (Undergrad)

Dr. K. M. A. Salam
Ph.D., Muroran Institute of Tech., Japan
Email: kazi.salam@northsouth.edu

Director, Internal Affairs

A.H.Lutful Hassan
MCPA ( University of Ballarat, Australia)
Hon.s & Masters in Finance ( Dhaka University)
Email: lutful.hassan@northsouth.edu

Director, Accreditation Project Team

Dr. Sakib Bin Amin
Ph.D., Durham University, UK
M.Sc., University of Essex, UK
Email: sakib.amin@northsouth.edu