

## North South University School of Business and Economics Departmental Committees, Department of Economics

(Updated on 22/4/2024: For Spring 2024 to Summer 2024)

## 1. Budget Committee

i.	Professor A. K. M. Atiqur Rahman	Advisor
 11.	Dr. Sakib Bin Amin	Member
 111.	Dr. Asad Karim Khan Priyo	Lead Coordinator
iv.	Dr. Tapas Kumar Paul	Member
v.	Ms. Parisa Shakur	Member
vi.	Ms. Nazneen Imam	Member
vii.	Mr. Atiqur Rahman	Member

#### **Responsibilities**

• Planning and preparing the annual budget (for every July-June fiscal year) for the Department of Economics and submitting it to the Treasurer

## 2. Assessment and Curriculum Planning (ACPC) Committee

viii.	Professor A. K. M. Atiqur Rahman	Advisor
ix.	Dr. Syed Mortuza Asif Ehsan	Lead Coordinator
х.	Dr. Md. Syeed-Uz-Zaman Khan	Member
xi.	Dr. Javed Hossain	Member
xii.	Mr. Atiqur Rahman	Member
xiii.	Mr. Mahir Labib	Member
xiv.	Dr. S. M. Nurul Alam (Adjunct faculty)	Member
XV.	Dr. Md. Amir Hussain (Adjunct faculty)	Member

#### **Responsibilities**

- Keeping the curriculum updated as per UGC instructions
- Determining the courses to be included in assessing student learning outcomes in the graduate and undergraduate programs.
- Determining learning outcomes of the courses in consultation with course instructors
- Reviewing and revising student learning outcomes and rubrics
- Writing assessment reports at the end of each semester

## 3. Research Committee

1.	Professor A. F. M. Ataur Rahman	Advisor
ii.	Dr. Syed Mortuza Asif Ehsan	Member
 111.	Dr. Tapas Kumar Paul	Member
iv.	Dr. Javed Hossain	Lead Coordinator
v.	Dr. Rafayal Ahmed	Member
v.	Dr. Amin Masud Ali (Adjunct faculty)	Member

#### **Responsibilities**

- Undertaking a number of initiatives such as organizing periodical seminars (Brown Bag Seminar)
- Enhancing the research culture within the department
- Encouraging research collaboration and quality publications
- Supporting faculty members to attract internal and external grants.

## 4. Community Outreach Committee

i. Dr. Mainul Islam Chowdhury	Lead Coordinator
ii. Dr. Saima Khan	Member
iii. Dr. Ahmed Sadek Yousuf	Member
iii. Mr. Abdul Mumit	Member
iv. Ms. Chowdhury Nawsheen Farooqui	Member
v. Ms. Azreen Benazir Abdullah	Member

#### **Responsibilities**

Encouraging and facilitating initiatives to increase faculty involvement with external stakeholders and vice versa (the industry, public and private institutions, non-profit sector, schools, universities etc.), thereby increasing faculty contribution to community service and furthering the impact and visibility of the department and programs.

## 5. Student Engagement & Support Committee

i. Professor M. Ismail Hossain	Advisor
ii. Dr. Tapas Kumar Paul	Lead Coordinator
iii. Ms. Mahnaz Aftabi Atique	Member
iv. Ms. Raisa Afsana	Member
v. Mr. Mahir Labib	Member

#### **Responsibilities**

- Interviewing probation 4 & above students of BS ECO, MS ECO, and MDS students and recommending whether to keep them at NSU
- Enhancing student learning experience and development in the department.
- Identifying initiatives and organizing workshops and events aiming to improve student performance and skills as well as creating awareness and reputation for the department programs.

## 6. Logistics Committee

i. Ms. Parisa Shakur	Lead Coordinator
ii. Ms. Chowdhury Nawsheen Farooqui	Member
iii. Ms. Nazneen Imam	Member

#### **Responsibilities**

Maintaining various display boards on the Department Walls and keeping the notice boards current

# <u>7. Promotion & Tenure Committee</u> (To be formed by the Chairperson when needed)

## 8. Graduate Student Admission Committee

i. Professor A. K. M. Atiqur Rahman	Member
ii. Professor M. Ismail Hossain	Member
iii. Dr. Asad Karim Khan Priyo	Lead Coordinator

## 9. Course Coordinators

- i. ECO101: Introduction to Microeconomics: Dr. Syed Mortaza Asif Ehsan
- ii. ECO104: Introduction to Macroeconomics: Dr. Mainul Islam Chowdhury
- iii. ECO 135: Applied Mathematics for Economics I: Dr. Tapas Kumar Paul
- iv. ECO 172: Introduction to Statistics: Ms. Raisa Afsana
- v. ECO 173: Applied Statistics: Dr. Mainul Islam Chowdhury
- vi. ECO 201: Intermediate Microeconomic Theory I: Dr. Syeed Uz Zaman Khan
- vii. ECO 204: Intermediate Macroeconomic Theory I: Dr. A. K. M. Atiqur Rahman
- viii. ECO245: Applied Mathematics for Economics II: Ms. Chowdhury Nawsheen Farooqui
- ix. ECO 301: Intermediate Microeconomic Theory II: Dr. Rafayal Ahmed
- x. ECO 328: International Trade Theory and Policy: Dr. Javed Hossain
- xi. ECO 372: Introduction to Econometrics: Dr. Sakib Bin Amin